8 Pa. municipalities join to form regional EMS authority

The Municipal Emergency Services Authority in Lancaster County will set fees as it aims to address industry challenges



By Leila Merrill

LANCASTER COUNTY, Pa. — In an effort to address local EMS issues, such as rising costs, funding shortfalls and staffing challenges, eight municipalities have banded together to form the first rate-setting regional municipal emergency services authority in Pennsylvania, WHTM reported Wednesday.

The Municipal Emergency Services Authority in Lancaster County was officially incorporated on Feb. 7. It includes the following eight municipalities:

  1. Conoy Township
  2. East Donegal Township
  3. Elizabethtown Borough
  4. Elizabeth Township
  5. Marietta Borough
  6. Mount Joy Township
  7. Penn Township
  8. West Donegal Township

The board will be responsible for determining the authorities’ services and fees.

The authority plans to be fully operational by early 2024.

Approximately 1,000 patients have been seen at DocGo clinics outside Dollar General stores since the service started last fall
Three Wilkes-Barre Housing Authority high-rises will be outfitted with sprinklers by the summer of 2024
The California state prison system aims to increase the female workforce from 17% to 30% by expanding recruitment efforts
The 12 cities claim the zero-bail schedule for nonviolent felonies and misdemeanors will result in a “significant increase in criminals released back into the community”